

Honorable F. Ann Rodriguez

Pima County Recorder 115 North Church Avenue Tucson, Arizona 85701

PHN: (520) 724-4330 **FAX:** (520) 623-1785 **WEB:** http://www.recorder.pima.gov

PRESS RELEASE

DATE: MAY 25, 2012

CONTACT: F. ANN RODRIGUEZ

(520) 724-4350

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

UPDATE of Numbers of Voted Ballots Returned For the Special Congressional District 8 Election

Pima County Recorder, F. Ann Rodriguez reported today that ballots for the Special Congressional District 8 General Election continue to be returned at a record pace. Updated numbers shown below are as of 4:30 pm Friday, May 25th.

Out of **328,495** registered voters in Congressional District **188,941** early ballots have been mailed out to voters in Pima County thus far. Already, more than **79,709** voted early ballots have been returned to the Recorder's Office. In addition, we have had 337 walk-in voters at our early voting sites. This brings the total percentage returned to **43**%. The breakdown by party is shown here as to those ballots that have been signature verified and will be processed to be counted.

Democratic	66,053 ballots mailed	21,103 ballots returned	32% returned
Republican	72,029 ballots mailed	22,407 ballots returned	31% returned
Green	347 ballots mailed	81 ballots returned	23% returned
Libertarian	999 ballots mailed	206 ballots returned	21% returned
Independents/			
Other	48,820 ballots mailed	12,879 ballots returned	26% returned

Rodriguez noted that voters who have not yet requested a vote-by-mail ballot may do so as long as the Recorder's Office receives the request by 5:00 p.m. on Friday, June 1, 2012. Voters can request an early ballot by calling 724-4330. Voters can also submit their early ballot request online at www.recorder.pima.gov. If a voter prefers to vote early in person, they can do so at three different sites in Pima County, 115 N. Church Avenue, 6550 S. Country Club Road and 6920 E. Broadway Blvd, suite D during regular business hours.

The deadline for any voter to return an early ballot is 7:00 p.m. on Election Day, June 12, 2012.